Be grateful, son. God has a better thing in stock for you.

Alireza Zare
5 min readAug 2, 2021

I was utterly pissed off. I had lost the opportunity to study at one of the best schools in the city, one that everyone dreamed of, simply because I had missed the entrance exam. I locked myself up in my bedroom, crying, punching the wall and cursing my bad luck all the time. I sure did not want to see anyone.

Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

I was a top student at school. My parents and teachers were proud of me. Now, I had blown a golden chance. I avoided seeing my family and siblings, except for the food they left at the door. Two days passed when I was woken up by some knocks at the door. ‘Go away.’ I said. ‘Open up. I’m here to see you.’ I heard in response.

I recognized the voice. It was my grandfather’s. I was sure my mom had called him, knowing he would be the only person who could persuade me to come out of my bedroom. I jumped out of the bed, took a look at myself in the mirror and tried to pull myself a little bit together. I looked awful, but I could not keep him waiting at the door.

The moment I opened the door, I jumped into his arms and burst into tears. He kept quiet and patted me on the back. Once I calmed down a little, my grandfather asked me to take a shower, eat something and get dressed for an evening walk. He did not say anything else. In an hour or so, I was ready to join my grandfather, waiting for me…

--

--