An Open Letter to the World Leaders

Alireza Zare
5 min readAug 13, 2021
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear World Leaders,

I know you’re awfully busy, dealing with highly important matters of your people. I know your secretaries are following you briefing you on the long list of events and meetings you are scheduled to attend. I know you are smiling at everyone in your office, wishing them a perfect day to serve the nation. I know your bullet-proof limos are awaiting you with your bodyguards checking on the routes you are supposed to take to get to your destinations. On the hallway, you hear:

‘Good morning Mr. President.’

‘Have a nice day, Mr. President.’

‘You look superb, Mr. Prime Minister.’

‘Hello, Mr. Ayatollah. May God keep watching over you.’

‘Good day, Your Majesty.’

‘His Highness, the King is leaving the palace.’

Well, good luck!

I am a writer and also a teacher. They say writers and teachers are the awakened souls and conscience of each nation. They are always on the alert to let people know things they might overlook otherwise. They feel committed to their people and human society at large. I am one of those, and I have a…

--

--